haircut.

27 July, 2012

Today I will get my hair cut. This may seem like a rather insignificant occurrence, but to me, it’s a beautiful reminder that God has paired with the best possible match for me. I often have the unhealthy tendency of pushing myself just a little too hard, resulting in my soul being in an unhealthy state. So, today, husband shoved my out the door with Starbucks giftcard, Bible, and haircut appointment in hand, and told me not to come back for at least 3 hours.

There are these moments as a mother that you wonder if your Bible is collecting dust and cobweb due to its severe lack of use. You think, “will it always just be an ornamental piece sitting on my bookshelf? Am I doomed to the long and dark of diapers and spit-up and potty trips and snack time and dinner prepping and spills and sticky fingers FOREVER?” But no. This, like any other, is just a season. And a joyful, hilarious season at that. But sometimes, a patience-trying, tiring season. One that leaves my soul hungry for food and adult conversation.

I do know that one day it will be over and I will miss these days.

Haircut time.

 

Thank you, my God for my beautiful children that you have blessed me with, for your words that bring me comfort, for your love that is never-ending, and for the man that you have given me. I am so thankful.

Leave a comment